Turkey Trot 2015

Sunday’s annual Turkey Trot 10-mile road race, organised by Waveney Valley Athletic Club, had a sell-out entry of just over 300 competitors with a total of 277 finishers. It was yet another Turkey Trot race record, beating last year’s previous highest total of 266.
The race, which started and finished near Beccles Sports Centre, took in the country lanes round Ilketshall St Andrew and Ringsfield and, like last year, produced new male and female winners.
In cool and slightly drizzly conditions, Kieran McMorran of Ipswich Jaffa RC won the race in a time of 56:04. Second was Andrew Bell of Haverill RC in 56:53 and third Jim Last of Framlingham Flyers in 57:54.
Waveney Valley AC’s Rose Nicholson was 11th overall and first lady in a time of 1-01.33 with a former Turkey Trot winner Tamara Jordan of Stowmarket Striders second in 1-03.31. Sian-Marie Lucas of Haverill RC was third in 1-07.14. Ipswich Jaffa won the men’s team prize and Stowmarket Striders won the ladies.
Age category winners were: M40 Paul Preston (Colchester Harriers) 1-01.47, M45 John Cox (Kent AC) 1-00.27, M50 Paul Nickells (Woodbridge Shufflers) 1-02.44, M55 Chris Starmer (Stowmarket Striders) 1-02.56, M60 Tim Newton (Ipswich Jaffa) 1-09.41, M65 Jim Hayes (North Norfolk Beach Runners) 1-14.29, F40 Alexandra Smith (Wymondham AC) 1-09.16, F45 Ruth Gaunt (Norwich RR) 1-15.57, F50 Haley Suttle (Stowmarket Striders) 1-14.14, F55 Belinda Godbold (Ipswich Jaffa) 1.18.06, F60 Marion Walker (Framlingham Flyers) 1-25.28, F65 Carole Spong (Great Yarmouth RR) 1-31.51.
Dominic Oliver of City of Norwich AC was the male winner of the best fancy dress. He impressed the judges with his turkey outfit, and for also managing to complete the course without getting stuffed or carved-up! Amy Godbold of Bungay Black Dog RC won the ladies with her pixie costume.
Waveney Valley AC results: 11 Rose Nicholson 1-01.33, 32 Karim Ouaddane 1-05.28, 33 Lloyd Scriven 1-05.36, 35 James Drake 1-06.27, 39 Pete Rogers 1-07.58, 44 Steve Carruthers 1-08.56, 66 Bill Kingaby 1-12.44, 72 Chris Bradford 1-13.39,80 Paul Grant 1-14.47, 86 Bob Milner 1-15.51, 105 Matt Baldry 1-18.10, 107 Stuart Spurgeon 1-18.35, 134 Duncan Carter 1-21.32, 155 Peter Andrews 1-23.15, 155 Caren Elvin 1-23.15, 159 Vladimir Laptikhovsky 1-23.46, 162 Becky Langford 1-24.03, 172 Vicky Archard 1-25.27, 177 David Goosey 1-26.57, 187 Lisa Joyce 1-28.23, 190 Paul Peek 1-28.29, 194 Louise Adamson 1-29.00, 206 Alan Varle 1-31.09, 234 Jo Fisk 1-35.13 and 235 Mark Colman 1-35.24.
Before presenting the prizes, race organiser Tim Earl thanked chief marshals Vicky and Alan Fairs and James Gooch,plus all of the marshals, traffic management officers, lead cyclist Lee Ffrench, tail runner Joe Mayne, St John
Ambulance, results service Richard and Cathy Aukland, county officials Joe Mower and Chris Chorley, the timekeepers, recorders and caterers and Mike Sharman and Peter Wicks for setting up the course signage.