Humpty Dumpty, Fritton Half & Parkruns

Waveney Valley Athletic Club’s Matt Jeffries achieved a notable success on Sunday by winning the Humpty Dumpty 10k road race held at Freethorpe, near Reedham, adding to victories earlier in the year at the Bungay Marathon and race 2 of the Great Yarmouth 5 mile series.
From the start, Matt was joined at the front of the race by Carl Goose of Bure Valley Harriers and the two were neck and neck until the final kilometre when Matt broke away to win the race in a personal best time of 32:37. He was also presented with the trophy as 10k champion of Norfolk, the county of his birth.
There were 17 Waveney Valley A.C. members competing in the event from a very large entry of more than 500 runners. Though there were fewer personal best times recorded by club members than has been the case thus far this year, there were age category trophies awarded to Karim Ouaddane for second M50-54 and Bill Kingaby third M60-64. Making their debut appearances for the club were Beth Bell and Claire Green.
WVAC results: 1 Matt Jeffries 32:37, 28 Karim Ouaddane 38:29, 55 Kyle Bowles 40:58, 71 Liam Nudd 42:17, 79 Paul Wright 42:37, 96 Mike Quantrill 43:33, 110 Bob Milner 44:24, 121 Bill Kingaby 44:46, 129 Wayne Freeman 45:21, 187 Ray Knights 48:34, 192 Alan Fairs 48:53, 338 Lisa Joyce 54:03,
370 Jo Fisk 56:45, 371 Cheryl Goymer 56:45, 463 Beth Bell 1.05:32, 465 Claire Green 1.05:33 and 505 Donna Milner 1.15:59.
The Fritton Cross Country Half Marathon on Saturday also saw a victory for Waveney as Chris Bradford finished first with Tim Earl third from 37 competitors. The race was staged over the familiar muddy cross country course which included two laps of the lake.
This month has seen more new members competing in the 5k parkruns. They are Beth Bell 31:27, Denise Bjorck 38:36, Kim Coutts 38:37, Chris Pitman 22:12, Amanda Scarff 30:55, Andy Ayers 26:20, Finlay Drake 33:45, Sarah James 34:06, Hannah Wood 35:56, Claire Green 32:26 and Claire Parfrey 32;20. There were personal bests recorded by Gill Johnson 30:28, Mike Quantrill 20:37, Lily Collins 24:57, Vicky Wood 25:37, Cheryl Goymer 25:40, Liam Nudd 19:33, Matt Jeffries 15:52 and Mike Illingsworth 21:56.